Release the Kraken

12 May

A retirement affects more than just the retiree.  Completely logical.  Different people react in different ways to the impending leave-taking.  Sadness.  Abandonment.  Indifference.  Anger.  Unfairness.  Happiness.  I hadn’t really thought about the possibility of  such a range of responses as I released my “Kraken.”  Actually, never thought of retirement as a Kraken until experiencing the negative effects it’s having on others.  The Kraken is here, confronting them on a daily basis.  

The response that caught me completely by surprise was Anger.  Anger with me because I choose to celebrate the end of my career and the beginning of the next part of my life.  Anger from the assumption that if I’m happy with my decision to retire, I’m being a drain on those around me, detracting from the quality of my work.  The assumption that I’m a “short-timer” and have no motivation to do a good job.  Nothing is farther from the truth. 

The reality of retirement is that it’s change, and change is hard.  You get to choose how you handle change.  I’m choosing to learn and grow from it.  I’m choosing to let others deal with the Kraken how they see fit, but I’m not letting him drool his negativity on me.  I’m just gonna have another cup of coffee and plan out what to do with my first day of “freedom.”

2 Responses to “Release the Kraken”

  1. CGibson May 12, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    woohoo, I’ve finally made it over here.
    So many of our peers (translate: Baby Boomers) are retiring (or have just retired). I’m amazed at how so many of them don’t want to retire.
    I wonder how conflicted I will feel when I get ready to retire…
    I love my career as an educator and librarian.
    But I also love the idea of enjoying my freedom for recreation.
    I think that most folks in our parents’ generation have a different view of recreation. For them, it was a luxury. For us, it’s an entitlement.
    My mother is appalled that I want to retire at 55. She tells me I can work until I’m 65.
    Easier said than done.
    Well Girl, I am looking forward to future posts.
    From,
    InfoDivaBronx

    • secondcupofcoffee May 13, 2010 at 7:47 am #

      True. Here’s the conversation after I told my mom I was retiring: Mom: You’re going to keep your teaching certificate updated aren’t you? Me: No. Mom: Well you should, you might want to keep teaching. You might find you need a job. How will you manage? Me: Did you get a job after you retired? Mom: No. Me: Did Dad? Mom: No. Me: ‘Nuff said.

      I know she’s just being a mom and worrying about me, still sees me as a little girl (of 50!). But part of the reason for an early retirement is to have some years to play! I’ll be happy to hear of your retirement and will celebrate with you!

Leave a Reply

