The Second Cup: Redefined…

4 Nov

Redefined due to a recommended “low oxalate” diet.  I’ve been having some great “adventures” with kidney stones for the last month.  Today’s visit to the urologist furthered the adventure with a list of evil foods I thought were good for me, and a strong recommendation to set up a “lithotripsy” (a blasting of the stone using high energy shock waves).  A friend has likened the procedure to the classic video game Asteroids, and wants to be the “shooter”.  I’m not sure my insurance provider will go along with that idea!

How did I get myself to kidney stone land?  The most likely situation is my habit of not drinking much water.  Teachers often don’t have the luxury of being able to get to a restroom as needed, so tend to control this by not drinking much water.  I’ve had 27 years of controlling my bladder.  Paybacks are, well…you know. 

So.  The newly evil foods include nuts, whole wheat, beans, blueberries, peanut butter, sweet potatoes, spinach, and tomatoes–all foods that most people consider healthy.  All foods that I enjoy, especially tomatoes!  Also included on the evil list: chocolate (waaaa!) and coffee (WAAAA!).  OMG!  I finally have time (usually…ok, sometimes) to enjoy a second cup of caffeinated nectar of the gods and now…sigh…that second cuppa needs to be green or herbal tea, or better yet, water to flush out the nasty oxalates provided by the coffee.

4 Responses to “The Second Cup: Redefined…”

  1. Becky Johnson November 4, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    Waaaaa! Are they forbidden forever? Can you have the evil foods back when your asteroids are blasted away? Waaaaa!

    • secondcupofcoffee November 9, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      The good news is that they are not forbidden completely…I just need to be aware of those foods that are oxalate-ridden and eat them in moderation, avoiding too many of them in a day. I also need to counter-act the oxalates if I do eat chocolate or drink coffee, for instance, by drinking lots and lots of water to flush the oxalates from my system. Because I’m a “stone-former” I must be aware of my oxalate intake forever….waaaaa.

  2. Pam November 5, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Is this a forever problem?! Holy cow! 😦 My sister and her husband, who live in Tucson, have both struggled with this problem–apparently it
    is more prevalent in desert regions?!

    Who’s your doc? Our neighbor across the street is a urologist–maybe I can you and his wife over for coffee at the same time! 😉

    • secondcupofcoffee November 9, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      Yup, a problem forever….I’ve been labelled a “stone-former” I’m seeing a nurse-practitioner in a Urologist’s practice. I really like her and trust her. I think the connection to desert regions may just be the tendency to not drink enough water. Not drinking enough water is my BIG issue–if you drink enough, your body doesn’t hold fluids in the kidneys long enough for stones to form, or at least not long enough for the stones to become boulders. ; )

Leave a Reply

