Me? Worried?

24 Jan

Yup.

photo attribution

If I see a “guilt” just layin’ there on the floor, I’ll pick it up and own it.  Even if it really has nothing to do with me.  Even if the true owner is in the room.  I guess I must consider myself a guilt expert.  I know how to wear it.  I know how to nurture it with the darkness of the wee hours of the morning, molding it and fluffing it with worry.  Worry.  Worry.  Worry.

I worry about if something I said in passing might have possibly been construed as offensive or hurtful by someone.  I worry that I was overly-exuberant about something and someone might have been put-off.  Did I remember to feed the cat?  Did I remember to call my mom?  Will Mr16 win his chair-challenge in jazz band?  Am I too clingy with Mr16?  Am I too distant?  How will I survive when he goes away to college? 

The list goes on and on.  They all come out in the wee hours of the night, partying like a bunch of creepy little goblins in my head.  They always seem worse in the dark; creating their favorite habitat of impending doom.  This always gives me the “OMG I must fix this right NOW” feeling, and of course at 3 in the morning, what can you do??? 

Probably a good thing.  When the sun comes up on a fresh new day, most of those worries can’t tolerate the daylight and fade away into the shadows.  The activity of the day can keep some of the others at bay.  Often, I’ve been worrying for no reason, really.  Just that random guilt I pick up and store.

In looking for images and whatnot for this post I came across these lyrics from the song “Why Worry” by Dire Straits:

“Why worry, there should be laughter after the pain
There should be sunshine after rain
These things have always been the same
So why worry now”

Funny how the lesson you need seems to present itself.  I’m thinking I’ll ponder these lyrics with my second cup of coffee tomorrow morning.  Thanks for listening.

6 Responses to “Me? Worried?”

  1. Paula Cooper January 26, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    You and me…. yup… cut from the same piece of cloth. Love ya my sistah from a different mistah….

    • secondcupofcoffee January 26, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      Yup! I’ve seen you reach out and grab a guilt before I could get to it! ; ) Love you right back, my sistah!

  2. cllecr January 26, 2011 at 8:19 pm #

    that guilt you found… carelessly dropped… some pieces of it probably should have been owned by me. I’m not sure how I’ve shed the burden- perhaps it left when my kids moved out… maybe I am just selfishly oblivious. I don’t think I notice my guilt unless it trips me – even then, I generally just examine it and then toss it aside. My dad used to chide me for worrying- especially about how I was seen by others- he said everyone else was too busy worrying about themselves to even notice me. I think I decided he was right.

    • secondcupofcoffee January 26, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      That must be the reason you always seem so joyful! I know I need to stop….it’s something else I worry about. ; )

      • cllecr January 26, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

        cheerful oblivion… guess I should bottle it. Here- have a swig or two – cheers 😉

      • secondcupofcoffee January 26, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

        Thanks! : )

Leave a Reply

