Busy-ness, Moonlight Hikes and Life

14 Aug

I’m retired.  Somehow, my idea of retirement and the reality are two very different things.  I had envisioned lazy days with an extra cup of coffee, watching birds at the feeders, reading books, blogging, puttering around the house and garden, cooking,….. 

The reality has in part, been altered by my decision to go with the “high deductable” insurance plan.  Usually healthy me had big adventures with kidney stones and now needs to work a bit to pay the deductable.  Sigh.

AND.  I’m a band mom.  On the board of our Band Parents organization.  It’s Marching Band season.  Don’t get me wrong–I absolutely ADORE marching band, but this is a super busy time of year, with band camp, meetings, fundraisers, marching competitions, half-time performances, more fundraising, more meetings….you get the idea.

AND.  The garden I love is loving me back.  A lot.  I nixed a trip to Denver this weekend because I needed to make pasta sauce from the tomatoes, do SOMETHING with at least some of the zucchini and make more hummus from green beans that were once again getting away from me.  This would be groovy if it weren’t for needing to work 2 days a week and keep up with the stuff I need to do for band.

Sigh.  So, last night I sat on the couch, freshly showered and working on a zucchini bread (how I decided to deal with the zucchini!) post for my other blog.  I keep Facebook running in the background (because I’m that kind of social, and I was monitoring the Band Parents page I administer) and noticed an open invite from a friend, suggesting a moonlight hike on the Colorado National Monument.  After checking to see how Michael might feel about that and a few back and forth comments,  I left the blog post unfinished, we got spontaneous and went for a hike! 

The weather was warm, but not like it is under the scorching sun.  Clouds wandered around and covered the full moon from time to time.  We found a section of slickrock between the trail switchbacks, laid on our backs and watched the stars and clouds, hoping for a glimpse of the International Space Station or a meteor from the Perseid shower.  We used cell phone apps to identify stars.  I found out that a cell phone camera does not capture what the eye can see in the dark, but a pretty image was captured, nonetheless.

 

 

The wind came up, covering us with grit, but we laughed and chatted and ended up drinking blueberry wine as a nightcap.  We could have spent the evening watching DVR-ed TV or Food Network or whatever, but look at the fun and relaxing time with friends we would have missed!  We are not spontaneous.  We are schedulers–partly due to being a bit over-scheduled with “stuff”, but somehow feel the need to have a plan no matter.  It was somehow rejuvenating being spontaneous! 

John Lennon wrote, “Life is what happens to you when you’re busy making other plans.”   I’m glad I listened when Life gave me an opportunity last night.  I’m keeping and ear out from now on.

 

One Response to “Busy-ness, Moonlight Hikes and Life”

  1. Carol LeCrone August 14, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I’m glad you were spontaneous, too… tonight the clouds have taken over and the pleasure of warm summer nights is briefly interrupted for the pleasure of cool summer rain… So nice to grab the moments as they arise and soak them in. Loved sharing a trail with you in the moonlight!

Leave a Reply

