My Yard, Dressed for Fall

23 Jan

Today, I was going through my phone, moving and deleting pictures, and came across a group of fall color pictures.  I took them while we were blowing out the sprinkler system.  My job is watching the last sprayer or dripper on a line to be done dripping while Michael has to hold the air compressor hose at the start of the line.  This takes a while, but I get to move around where Michael is just stuck where he is.  I amused myself by playing photographer, having the best intentions to use them in a blog post when they were freshly taken.  Ah well, fall is also marching band season, a super busy time for a band mom. 

It was fun remembering how vivid the colors were, especially in the midst of a grey and taupe time of year.  And so, I invite you to marinate in the warm hues of my autumnal landscape.

Let’s start with the only crabapple that survived the spring frost…three crabapple trees, one crabapple.

These are Mexican Sunflowers.  This plant changes its position each year–resulting in a yearly re-do of the drip system to adjust for sprinklers to get around this tall, tall plant.

I have two hedge maples; they have a weird corky bark and are the last trees to turn color each year.  When they drop their leaves, you can see the sparrow nests–two or three in each tree–sparrow condos!

My ginnala clump maple turns bright purple overnight and drops all of its leaves just a couple days later.  You can see the majority of the leaves already on the ground, creating a violet skirt in the grass.

This aspen is so happy.  It shouldn’t be, aspens hate growing here in the valley.  It never gets as golden as a mountain aspen, but it tries.

I worked all the way to the closing day at the Greenhouse this year.  I’m such a sucker for bloomy things; I couldn’t resist the cheery color of this mum.

Or these.

Meet  the autumn purple ash.  It’s a baby tree and this is the first year I’ve seen it change color.  It has so few leaves, that it seems to turn and drop in a matter of hours.

I planted this cottonwood 14 or 15 years ago.  It was just a rooted stick we got from a friend then.  Now it’s home to a family of orioles every summer; they build their hanging pocket nest way up at the tippy top of the tree.

And finally, my favorite picture.  How beautiful are strawberries after a frost?

I think it would be fun to take pictures of every season.  I’ll wait for a warmish day and look for something interesting hidden in the grey and taupe.  Then I’ll come in and warm up with a cup of coffee while I blog (in a more timely fashion).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

slideshow

 

Leave a Reply

